My Daddy

6 thoughts on “My Daddy

    • Our stories are individual and universal at the same time. But those expressions of happiness that a dementia patient shares are jouful, funny, sweet, and really do put us in the present moment.

  1. …you are welcome for the story and I left out the best,being offered a Budweiser at 9 a.m. upon arrival at the house. Now THAT is the Uncle Billy I have always known handsome, cordial, and ready to celebrate something, with someone, anytime!

    Even when his eyes seem vacant, the man himself is still there – as I am sure is true with your Daddy. If I can find a photo of dear Uncle in his uber handsome days will try to post it, as my Aunt says…”he was sure something to see!”

    I tell her to focus on that when he is pacing the house or asking her questions.
    She who is ill herself but still standing by his side, married 62 years. WOW

  2. re: above, the racetrack that is, he is not interested in walking or exercises…just betting on dogs or horses!

  3. I have always enjoyed my uncle Billy but now that he has been stricken with dementia, we have had to forge a new rapport – one that has to date yielded some of the best conversations in our decades long relationship. The other day I pulled up in my fancier-than-me rental car he was on the porch andwanted to know why I couldn’t take him for a ride to the track. I said “I have to go back to New Mexico Uncle…”. Being smack in the heart of my favorite Boston suburb, I thought (naively!@) that would squelch him but all he had to say was “Well, we can go there first!”

    LOL – !@

    So a laugh in the sadness of seeing him fade into somewhere that I have only experienced glimpses of.
    Upstairs my aunt sneaked a cigarette, on momentary break from her role as primary caretaker.

    -Alice G
    from an upcoming memoir…

    • Thank you so much for your story with Uncle Bill. My Daddy was always funny, and that has remained, so far, with an unexpected twist of seeing things more clearly. Just without any “social” filters. My storyline for Bunny Dearest and friends is developing a day at a time, sometimes with a couple of days in mind. That seems to work best with aging parents.

Leave a Reply

